Really Cool Women\'s Book Club

Time to nominate books September 11, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Susan @ 11:08 pm

It’s that time again! Please get your book nominations to me by the end of September. Thanks!!

 

Yes Please by Amy Poehler at Susan’s house on October 8th at 6PM, 2015 September 3, 2015

Filed under: Books,Past Meetings — Susan @ 8:44 pm

51vGGpaDDPL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_The funniest, smartest and frankest memoir I’ve ever read — Doug Johnstone, Books of the Year 2014 Herald Required reading for all young women — Best Books of 2014 Huffington Post A joy … [Poehler] has particularly smart advice on how to ignore the internal whispers that give rise to self-loathing; it should be piped into the girls’ changing rooms at every secondary school — Books of the Year 2014 Evening Standard [A] bristlingly intelligent, guffaw-out-loud memoir … Yes Please isn’t a scan of the comedic brain so much as it is something far better-the full exposure of Poehler’s funny and very magnanimous heart Elle Hilarious … wickedly funny and razor sharp Observer Yes Please is what happens if you take the wit of Saturday Night Live, sprinkle it with the warmth of Nora Ephron and marinade it in the spirit of the best, most empowering women’s magazine … Poehler is that rare thing: wise without being bossy, smart without making you feel a bit stupid, funny without making you wince. And her book is like sitting in your kitchen with your best friend, drinking too much wine, laughing, crying and maybe doing embarrassing mum dancing Harper’s Bazaar Half memoir, half advice column, and 100 percent wisecracking, sharp-as-hell, belly-laugh-making Poehler GQ Funny, wise, earnest, honest, spiritually ambitious … a smart and funny woman who isn’t either of those things all the time and doesn’t mind admitting it because she thinks that’s important LA Times [Amy Poehler] is simply one of the best things about the 21st century so far… one of this year’s essential reads Stylist Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to introduce you to the only book I care about these days: Yes Please by Amy Poehler. Amy Poehler is an American actor, comedian and writer. She is also a mighty force for good… I know you’re sick of celebrity memoirs, you’re sick of female celebrities talking about feminism, blah blah blah. Well, that’s just fine because Poehler’s book is so much more than that. Poehler is the only person in the world other than Nora Ephron who can be funny about divorce (and she is so funny about divorce), and she is definitely the only person in the world from whom I will accept sex tips (and her sex tips are great). But most of all, she’s super smart — Hadley Freeman Guardian As brilliant and hilarious and adorable as the woman herself Marie Claire Life advice, personal anecdotes and a touch of sex all beautifully handled by the warmest US comedy goddess… Actually adorable Grazia Our favourite agony aunt… Witty, real-life advice Vogue A part-memoir, part-manual mashup of inspirational career counsel and laugh-out-loud sex advice Good Housekeeping Anyone who loves Amy Poehler’s biting comedic style will love the SNL star’s autobiography… hilarious Stylist Poehler’s first book of personal stories and advice, in the vein of Tina Fey’s Bossypants and Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?… One of America’s most beloved comics and actresses